8 thoughts on “Watermelon Dreams on a Starry, Starry Night

  1. Luscious! Nolan, may I ask about the crayon? Is it oil based and dries on top/amongst your acrylic or do you seal it another way?

  2. Despite the knife, this work seems playful to me. I like it!

  3. Crayon….caron/craon? dauche (sounds like)French…I used to use wax OIL based ones but cannot find them anymore so use the water based was ones, then spray fix the hell out of it then the varnish. whew. Otherwise, they ‘paint’ themselves if water hits them.
    Yes, playful via the title. The IS the knife I cut them up with. Had it much larger in the pix and it looked way too menacing. Painted it out and set back the new one with glazing. Still there but not a nightmare of a knife.

  4. Looks gorgeous Nolan. But water based crayons …? I’ve used a brushed wash over ‘chalk’ pastels which spreads them somewhat like watercolour but gives them more ‘permanency’ – is that what you’ve used?

  5. No. Over these crayons, I first spray with workable fixative. Then, when painting is finished, I use a non yellowing spray varnish, satin or matte finish. I’m trying not to let the crayon look get washed at all. Well, once in awhile I’ll wash them on purpose before I varnish, but seldom. I love the loose ‘drawing’ part of it all.

  6. Mmm makes me crave a feast of watermelon .. have some water crayons in the cupboard, have used them for mono prints .. thanks for sharing this technique … this paintings has me digging mine out the cupboard wanting to try it!

  7. I did a painting two years ago that was called HOW I SPENT MY SUMMER VACATION. It also had a watermelon in it as we seem to eat a lot of them daily in our NM heat. Replaces water and salt from our cycling/tennis/weed pulling…. The older painting also had a dark area in it bordered by barbed wire….we were going through property survey woes at the time. Glad that one’s over. ha. Those crayons are great fun to use….just wish the oil based ones were readily available at Daniel Smith/Utrecht/even Dick Blick. Living rurally, I mostly send away for art supplies.

  8. Looking Good, I’m learning acrylic painting so this would be a good example for me to try. And I’m planning to buy art materials from jerrysartarama as their prices are in my budget. Is it good or should I go for another one?

Leave a comment