A fun night…

029_AW_13

We had a grand opening here in Mt P on Saturday night, with almost 50 people attending which is a wonderful turnout and a good sign there’s not much else to do here on a Saturday night.

I’m still yet to take decent shots, but this is the sketching corner I set up to try to show all the preliminary work that goes into the pieces… and it seemed to really work. I think a lot of people really enjoyed this corner.

A few little red dots are scattered around the room which is always exciting, and this week is a week to catch up on a mountain of paperwork before the canvasses come out again next week to really get stuck into the Las Cruces work.

17 thoughts on “A fun night…

  1. Well deserved celebration of your work Adrienne and sales are a bonus! Good for you! cx

  2. It is such a bonus, isn’t it. Hard to explain that sometimes as so often (understandably) people imagine it’s the driving force.

  3. Red dots are affirmation and = more art supplies (w/o raiding the larder fund.) The Unsettled Gallery uses little cowboy boot stickers. Congrats. Love the sketches. CC

  4. Red dots/schmred dots….glad you have them, but I never consider them an affirmation (sorry, Carey)…just someone with good taste and the clams to purchase. Brava! And I love the idea of showing so much preliminary works to go with those two, small panels/canvasses. Am I seeing a couple of monotypes there, too? Lovely work….great subject and you’ve done well! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Red dots: Driving force? No. I don’t think about red dots when I am at an art work.

    Red dot affirmation? Honestly? When people that I know that have as much business buying art as we do make the stretch to purchase on lay-away it means something to me and I am grateful to them beyond the sheckles. If I don’t know them and they do have the means? I LIKE the sheckles and do feel some affirmation. Is a show with no red dots as completely satisfying to me as a show with red dots? Nope. Ouch.

    I think that if I didn’t desire affirmation/communion on some level my work would never leave the yard and I wouldn’t be a part of this blog. Is that pathetic? Should I keep this to myself? Most probably. Defensive? Yep. ‘Cause I like to believe in the purity of the artistic spirit.

    Anyway . . . Congrats on the red dots. CC

  6. Nah, Carey….you are so able to need / want that affirmation. I just think that the artist KNOWS whether their work is good or not and no ‘affirmation’ of a buy is necessary for that. I once, many years ago, had a painter friend in Santa Fe, who had begun selling WELL say at one of our ‘artist’s breakfasts’ …’I must be good, my work is selling.’ He was one who had asked me to critique his work (which I refused to do), so my comeback then was: ‘My work isn’t selling as well, does that mean my work isn’t as good?’ hahaha, there ya have it. I still feel that way. Always thrilled to sell a piece ’cause I could use the clams, but not for affirmation. To each his/her own, eh?

  7. Thanks for responding Nolan. It’s funny – when I am actually making work and things are flowing, I am as close to spontaneous, bold, positive, egoless as I expect to ever be doing any other activity. It can be kind of a rush. All of the other “stuff” is after.

    I recently completed a work – it almost completed itself – that I liked, but that I thought no one else would respond to. I was not sure that I would even show it to Catherine as a candidate for the last Unsettled show. Heather liked it, against what I considered her aesthetic. Catherine decided it was one of her favorites. It was the only painting of any size that sold – to another artist. That did feel like a triple affirmation including the dot (boot in this case.)

    On the other hand I did a methodical piece almost as an excercise that I was cool on that I did NOT intend to show and an artist friend convinced me that it should go in. We hung it in a side gallery and several artists said that it was thier favoirite.I am not to the point where I am sure of what I like of my completed work more often that not. Usually back and forth on ’em. Working on it. CC

  8. Forgive my “affirmation” digression Adrienne. This was about your night. CC

  9. Congratulations on your show Adrienne … good idea including the working drawings, giving that insight as to how your paintings evolve.. nice the opening crowd related to and enjoyed the way you responded to the landscape even taking some home for keeps! all good!
    Look forward to coming out to My Perry to see the exhibition and a studio visit .sue

  10. Heeee. I’m loving this. How good is this blog? Okay, I can finally weigh in this afternoon on the dot affirmation sales dialogue… if I may.
    Until 2 years ago, for 25 years I worked as a commercial artist, trained in graphic design I branched into commercial illustration and built a business around this and the kind of clientele I wanted to work with (mostly). As you all know, this is a really clear transaction, working to a brief, delivering a quality result (all parties hope), $ change hands. To be chosen for a great project is rewarding/affirming/whatever the right word is – no doubt many different things to different peeps. I found this such great grounding when I first went back to my own artwork 16 years ago, it was so, so clear: this is the creative stuff I make for myself, that over there is the creative stuff I make for a living. And those two worlds didn’t ever blur.

    Maybe the word I want to use is ‘encouragement’. This current work is a bit of a new direction which can be daunting and risky and thrilling. And in my lovely little town, in this tiny gallery I truly expected no sales. So perhaps in some cases a red dot can be interpreted as encouragement – I do feel encouraged by the sales, I do! “Don’t panic about the work just yet (as I have a bit lately), don’t rest back in the safe ground (which is still lovely ground, but you’ve just been there)” says the little bird on the shoulder.

    Maybe it’s the influence of a commercial life, which is just a life making a living so I’m not denigrating that, but there must be some part of my conscious mind that says when I put this on the wall I’m putting a price on it in the ‘hope’ of a sale. I guess I like to think that work is good enough to engage a commercial transaction.

    Boy this is quite the essay!

    I shall end, chuckling, with “I sold 4 more pieces today” and I am encouraged — in particular by you lot :-]

  11. Oh my God!! – you people are simply amazing to bring out this conversation, giving so much of yourselves…You are truly wonderful and gifted people.

    Dollars are bonuses that sometimes come when we need something (like – ‘I need a digital projector now!!!!’ …and a few dollars have mysteriously come their way. ) More that not, the dollars don’t come at all.

    Artists do need some kind of affirmation, I believe, or we could not sustain our art practices. I could never have developed my art practice without the support and affirmation I received from my late husband, and my two wonderful sons. This support came both as affirmation of my work, in general, and also, importantly, in the provision of dollars to enable me to push on through the difficult times. (Like now!)

    We are all established artists, still working, when many of out cohorts have dropped by the wayside for a variety of reasons. I salute you all, but also suggest you grab the dollars if and where you can, if they enable you to achieve what you need to achieve.

    No guilt there at all!! cx

  12. Glad this tread is OK. I was looking for my misplaced filters.
    I have to say I’d count my self as “dropped by the wayside” for decades, pouring myself into work that used to be creatively fulfilling. Never stopped painting completely, but few DIY shows, “artist’s statements”, sales. Found myself nearing 50 and increasingly an administrator. Something had to give. The art seems to be on the right crooked path. For me. I don’t think that I have quite found my footing re-entering the cycle of assessing my own work, approaching galleries and, here we go, marketing my work and myself. That bit goes against the Norwegian line in me. Must be the Scott blogging here. CC

  13. Fantastic news about the new red dots, Adrienne. Brava!
    Re: ‘affirmation’….’encouragement’….I do have one person in my life I actually listen to when I ask him questions about my work. I had two, but the other died. I put it, as we all do, on ourselves as the artist/creator. I think maybe I’m just older (?) and have lived rurally so long that you just don’t much care much….ya just want to work. HAVE to exhibit it to try to sell and make room for more. Basic stuff.
    I, too, began as a graphic artist, freelancing in Los Angeles for twenty years. Began painting once again in my late twenties but knew the work wasn’t mature enough to show. As a matter of fact, looking back on it, my first solo in Santa Fe in 1980 really wasn’t a good show. Fun for me, but the work? Nah. Sold well, go figure. Catch 22.

  14. These comments are fantastic; truly thought provoking, after years spent largely ‘alone’ with my creative urges. I just have to join in!

    Is the desire to create something innate? Why do we do it? I can’t honestly say I live and breathe art (although SOMEtimes that is the case, it is certainly not a constant) but at the same time I cannot go long without ‘needing’ to ‘do’ something. There is always a constant juggling act to try and balance creative activities with producing an income. Like everyone else, I’ve had various jobs, including teaching art and some graphic design. I’m just now in the early stages of Arts Administration as an income provider (which I am finding in equal measure, very rewarding and also at times quite frustrating, due to a lack of time to be creative myself). I find sales usually (not always) encouraging, or affirming, but then … I feel I really would NOT like to make my ‘living’ solely from my artwork! Is that crazy?! Surely every artist would prefer to be able to spend their days simply making their art? But this is where I think difficulties and compromises arise (not that compromise is necessarily a bad thing – much of western art historically has been commissioned by patrons/clients).

    If you paint to ‘sell’ (make a living) then you must begin to be influenced by your ‘market’ – keep making the same, or similar things because they sell and your ‘audience’ expects it. You become a ‘brand name’ and increase or decrease in value according to how well you can maintain your ‘style’ in the art market.

    I find making a decision about ‘how much’ an artwork is ‘worth’ truly difficult because the work comes about from a very personal, internal dialogue between the artist and their surroundings/influences. What is intuition worth? How much should be paid for a visual display of … of what, exactly?! I guess I try to make visual something ‘particular’ about a place, or theme – how it has ‘moved’ me, how it ‘felt’, NOT how it ‘looked’ (not even in those detailed botanical-type works I do) even though it is often the very act of looking that brings the ‘thing’ to my attention in the first place!

    But enough! Blogs are supposed to be short and I have added more than my two cents worth to the discussion. Congrats Adrienne. May the Mt Perry sales continue 🙂

  15. Well done, Christine! Looks like you’ve got 50 of your 200 rounded up already….should be quite a party at Casa Dave. (we’ll let the others scratch their heads over that one)

  16. And now for something completely shallow – I just love the idea of cowboy boot stickers instead of red dots! Trudie can we do this!!

  17. @ Ro – surely we’d have to use Acubra hats or RM Williams/Blundstone boots for that?! Unless we went for the local turtle icons …

Leave a Reply

