A message from Peggy

Dinner with Peggy

Peggy has asked me to post the following on herbehalf, enjoy….

Hello to everyone in Bundaberg…you too Dave. You certainly are one lucky dingo! What a great place to do an artist in residency!! There are great people, nice digs, huge studio space and all kinds of beautiful places to experience and use in your works. I am truly jealous.

Joel and I had a lovely time in Bundaberg and a lot of fun meeting Trudie and two of the participating artists, Christine and Adrienne. Jenny was not feeling well and she missed out on the fun. I was delighted at how open and friendly everyone was, but then I’ve never met an Aussie I didn’t like. We felt right at home. Good conversation, good wine, great food it all creates good friends. I hope we can stay in touch for a long time. I also hope I can go back at some point and meet Susan and Trevor and see Jenny.

Trudie was kind enough to take the two of us to visit the ChArts Gallery before we had to rush to catch the train. The gallery is a dynamic space, very open with lots of light and an interesting view of the beautiful old business district off the balcony. This gallery is more than a gallery it also houses a memorial to 15 people who died in a fire when the building was a backpackers hostel. There is a beautiful memorial wall that tells the individual stories. The artist who created the glass wall worked with the families of the backpackers to find the images that showed where they were from and what they enjoyed in life. The way the photos illustrated each personality reminds me so much of the way we celebrate Dia de los Muretos in New Mexico. Our little alters show the same things about the person that is being remembered and celebrated. I found this a very moving experience.

This trip to Australia was for business (for Joel) and pleasure (for me).  We landed in Brisbane and spent three days with friends. Joel had meetings during the day with individuals in the CSIRO offices. On Thursday we left our gear at our friends place and took the train to Bundaberg. We spent that night in the apartment at BRAG and then returned to Brisbane via the train on Friday. We spent Friday evening and Saturday celebrating with our friends and their neighbors (you guys know how to make a person feel welcome). Sunday we flew to Sydney and Joel had to start working right away. He gave a few papers and I went to the museums.

There is a very good exhibit at the Art Gallery of New South Wales, titled “Sydney Moderns ART FOR A NEW WORLD” that runs through Oct. 7.  I love the artists work and learned a lot about post-war Sydney and the thought behind the artworks. The color/music theory of Roy de Maistre is something I will have to do more research on.

I also saw the other touring exhibit the Gallery of NSW had “Renaissance to Goya”.  This exhibit was drawings and prints from the collection of the BritishMuseum. Fabulous figure drawings!

I also got to the Museum of Contemporary Art and saw a beautiful exhibition by Graig Walsh where he interviewed Murujuga Aboriginal elders then projected the image of them talking during the interview onto a picture of a feature in the landscape that was very meaningful to that individual. The double image fused the weathered faces into the rugged landscape and they became one. There were several good exhibits the other favorite was “String Theory: Focus on Contemporary Australian Art”. I loved the woven figures in this show.

There was a nice show of Ansel Adams photos “Photography from the Mountains to the Sea” at the NationalMaritimeMuseum. Even the convention center at DarlingHarbour had a nice selection of artworks.

Joel and I did manage to spend some time together and had the chance to catch up with old friends over dinner a couple of nights. One evening we took the tour of the Opera House and then went to the performance of the musical “South Pacific”. I can’t imagine a better place to catch that show.

Well, I have not been much of a writer on the blog up to now and not much of this is about my work but I thought you might find my time in Australia interesting. I did not find a paper shop but did manage to pick up some nice Yuzen Washi paper at the museum. They are colorful printed papers from Japan. I could only find the small sheets but they will work in nicely to my work. I will try to send some images as I use these papers.

I am excited to see the pieces up along side each other in the galleries.

Cheers,

Peggy

4 thoughts on “A message from Peggy

  1. Hi Peggy, apologies for not getting back to you about possible paper options in Sydney… should have made a note in my diary that night about it. Sounds like you both had a great trip, and I was blown away that you and Joel made that huge train journey up and back, thank you so much. See you in a few weeks!!

  2. Peggy who? on a blog? 🙂 Great to hear the details of your journey. You even got to check out my apartment. I’ve only scratched the surface of my travels…visited some amazing spots this trip and have a stack of options for new paintings.

  3. Oh Peggy…I so enjoyed meeting you and Joel! Wish you could have stayed longer! cx

Leave a Reply

