Studio visits with Christine, Sue, and Trevor

On various days this past week I was able to spend time with Chris, Sue, and Trevor, and see their homes, studios and collections.  Various art works changed hands in the process to further cement the great friendships we’ve been building since beginning this blog and my arrival in Bundy.  Here are some photos from those get-togethers.  (I’ll do a separate post for Saturday’s visit to Maryborough with Chris/Trevor).

Image

Image

 

Chris lives in the back part of a larger structure she owns, with one portion used as a laundromat, one portion for her appropriately named “Dirty Linen” gallery, one portion for storage of the massive biscuit tin collection, and the upstairs rented out.  She and I have collaborated, sort of, on future works, where she’ll look to use some of my quintessential Aussie photos (Ayers Rock, billabongs) as backdrops for digital compositions.  I got to pick out a few fantastic prints of hers, in exchange.  (Can’t share images of those yet since in other exhibitions right now.)  Best of all, the subjects were other artist friends from Bundy.  So tight collection-connections all round, just the way I love to increase the meaning of my art hoardings.

I saw Sue’s studio twice, once when she was away and left it open for Chris and me to scrounge around, and again when she was home to give the tour herself.  She lives in what appears to be an old Queenslander farmhouse in the country between Bundy and Childers, but actually they built it themselves.  She’s got a nice large studio down below, chockers with art of all forms…ceramics, canvases, watercolors, prints, 3-D, etc. We had quite a battle peeling off the canvas from backing board on one of my collection additions, so I could attempt to get it home.  Not sure where I’m going to find the big walls for Sue and Chris’ work, but this is just a minor problem to be resolved.

Image (with Chris for scale)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image Anyway, Sue’s got dibbs now on my Shadow of the Bow, pending any sales.  In exchange, I’ve got these not so shabby works of hers.

Image

Image

 

Trevor had returned to some semblance of normalcy following the sad passing of his father, so I was fortunate to be able to spend time with him and Chris in Maryborough.  He really has a wonderful Queenslander home, garden, and collection, only a small sampling shown in my pix below.  I’m looking forward to a future trip and visit to continue the tour. (e.g., didn’t get to see the back workshop/kiln.)  Roughly, my photos work from the workshop forward through studio, kitchen, living room and front veranda.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Leave a Reply

