Parting images from Oz

I’m catching up on some of my photos, so sharing a few from the tail end of my trip to Australia.  I spent the last couple of weeks in the rural, coastal area around Berry, NSW, about 2 hours south of Sydney.  This is a particularly lovely region with escarpments from the Southern Highlands intersecting the coast before giving way to farmland and yet more national parks and headlands along the coast.  The mountainous area are filled with pockets of the most southern sub-tropical rainforest in Australia, waterfalls, and fantastic wildlife like the wombat.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

My high-school buddy Omar and his wife Barb left the Sydney lifestyle behind to attempt a sustainable life on a rather luxurious property only a 15 minute walk from 7 Mile Beach National Park.  They raise trout, veggies, pigs, and chooks to trade produce in a local farmer’s co-op.  I enhanced their home with the gift of a Banksia Lantern ceramic by Jenny Gilbertson.  But they still put me to work digging weeds, feeding the hogs and gutting fish.

Image

Image

 

My daily hikes and swims on the beach at 7-Mile were supplemented by day trips to the falls and nearby Jervis Bay National Park, which boasts some of the whitest beaches in the world.  Miniature penguins breed there and it is a lovely habitat for giant rays that come right up to the shore.  I got my final fix of sunshine before leaving for the North American winter….how about that snow in Las Cruces?

Image  I was the only person on this beach every day I visited!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image  But all good things eventually must end, so I’ve now made it as far as California.

Leave a Reply

