Restive Festive

Zazz1

 

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year All.

I’m posting one in the works (really, still wet acrylic) but likely nearly done. It seems appropriately festive. Kind of solstice-y too, for us heliocentrics.

For me, WBHD has been a true highlight of 2013. I am debating posting much post-project work here as we look to 2014. What do you think?

If you do want to see more work done after October you can find it here: http://cranepaints.com/2013/12/23/2014-almost-here/

Thanks my new friends. May the New Year bring you all the best artistically and in all other spheres.

Best, CC

6 thoughts on “Restive Festive

  1. Hi Carey, I loved clicking on this pic this morning. It’s beautiful and the palette is delicious!
    The blog has been a wonderful addition to my practice. I’d like to continue to blog images that relate to the project and it’s spin-offs, especially with this new experimental print group Chris is putting together here in WB. And perhaps it remains a great place for questions and answers, sharing books and artists we know?
    I guess you’re not able to use Studio 1 at the moment? Paint could freeze?

  2. Hi CC…..I am all for showing new work. I would love to see what you are up to. Have you found interesting aspects of any of the other artist’s works? Anything you thought might be interesting to try? Or are you more self-contained? (Like me)?

    Being a heliocentric like yourself, happened upon me quite magically,10 or more years ago when I had to meet someone in the city. I had spare time, so I spent it rummaging around in a dusty old book shop. I wasn’t looking for anything in particular, when the bookshelves started to shake and rattle, and a large white book fell into my hands. (Sorry, fibbing for effect!!)

    That book is “Geometric Concepts in Islamic Art’ by Issam El-Said & Ayse Parman. ISBN 090535038 I have seen it on Amazon and it may be possible to get it cheaply from the Book Depository.

    That book is full of infinity patterns and shows how they were designed from circles. I spent a few years on infinity patterns and made a series on large canvases called ‘The Seven Days of the Creation.’

    I think you might be interested to read that book. Let me know if you want more info. By the way, I really like your circle paintings!! cx

  3. I have been enjoying following the developments of us die-hards, so I’m thinking that I’ll post a representative work now and then and stay in touch here. I’ll bet we’ll hear from Dave agin if he ever stays home for a few weeks.

    Nolan is no stranger to the eternal circle. My Father’s work returns to his “Moons” and circular “cosmologies” in cycles. I don’t intend circles in series, but there they are.

    I am going to look for “Geometric Concepts in Islamic Art. I am very interested. It has just fallen into my hands – one of the great values of you all and this blog. Of which; sharing artists and direct or off-hand remarks have changed up my opening perimeters (start ups) on more than a few works. For example: one muted/painter’s hand and one gestural-muted brown/blacks in the Class of Fall, 2013 in part courtesy of Ms. N. As for mediums, I have followed the printmaking, digital and press with interest. I am going through a time when the relative discipline of a rectangular canvas/panel coupled with mutability of viscosities keep me pinging along. I am drawn to hand building ceramics. Probably that same directed mutability? Still so much to do yet with painting . . .

    Too much to say about calligraphy and patterning. I don’t want to directly emulate another cultures mark-making out of context, but want for it to seep in somehow. As for our Roman characters, I do love fonts and calligraphy but generally (arbitrarily?) avoid “second signifiers” – full-on language in my work at this time. Great in some of my favorite artists, but not for me, now. Though mechanical, I liked using the weedings of vinyl lettering as stencils in the last few works because they are fragments and the negative spaces around letter and with fonts chosen for a very different, specific purpose. Plus the mechanicals set off the painterly strokes. Too much to say about my also love of mechanicals – plans, diagrams, maps, graphic design in relationship to painterly abstraction and chance. Whew. Reach exceeds grasp.

    So, how’s the above for trimming back on the blogging? CC

  4. geez, you talkative artists. I’m here. Soon I’ll be here more. Love this blog. Come daily to read. Will post new work in the very new year. Excited.
    Two beautiful NM suns, CC….who could want for more.
    ………to all.
    Oh, CC, as I went to ‘xxxxx’ my way out of this reply my eyes went right up to ‘Reach exceeds grasp.’ I’m thinking if it did NOT, we wouldn’t much need to continue. =]
    Always reaching, I hope.
    Reminds me of a Glen Hansard (one of my favorite singers) quote about his songwriting/art: ‘Your music should never patronise the listener. It should always ask the same question they’re asking. And it shouldn’t dare to provide an answer.’
    I love that.
    Merry holydays everyone. xxxxx

  5. “Ah, but a man’s reach should exceed his grasp,
    Or what’s a heaven for?” Robert Browning

    I’m Google-Literate. CC

Leave a Reply

