Something fishy going on!

IMG_0097

I have spent much of the weekend preparing my collection of 210 bbq paper plate holder plastic fish for an installation at a local beach this week. Fun times!! A drone is going to fly over the 20m installation and take pictures, or a video. I’m not quite sure what will exactly come out of it. (Maybe I am under surveillance?) Another friend is going to do a time lapse of the event.

It should be fun if the weather holds out. It has been very windy of late. I have number of friends coming to help me set up. We only have 2 hours of low tide to get the installation finished.

Susan, Jenny Gilbertson and I had a lovely Sunday in the Linen yesterday. We started with the 10 minute warm ups we had planned. I had set up a small still life of a teaset I have. I was totally bowled over with Jenny G’s drawing and copying skills. She is an absolute machine. I will ask her to post some of her amazing pencil drawings, that she produced in such a short time. Very impressive!

Susan produced 4 tiny canvases, which she will probably finish at home.

After that we had some poetry readings. Susan had written a truly fabulous story relating to a drawing she had done of a women that is changing into a bird. I will ask her to post it. She has a natural talent for writing (on top of her other many talents).

It is so wonderful to have such creatively talented friends, and to spend such quality time with them.

IMG_0098

Here’s a picture of the teaset with my 2 minute sketch, that deserves only to be thrown in the bin!

 

Jenny's quick sketches

Jenny’s quick sketches

5 thoughts on “Something fishy going on!

  1. It was a good morning Chris, if a bit too short 🙂 Hopefully we’ll be able to do it again soon.

  2. Sketches are wonderful! I missed such a good morning, is it happening again any time soon?

  3. I am there this Sunday, so come along. Sue will be there and Jenny I hope. cx..maybe Catherine?

  4. Mmmmm. Lovely, will see you there. I’ll bring my gouaches too, all welcome to play with them. And the new print book!

  5. Christine, whoever did the first drawing behind that lovely tea set…..fantastic! Boy, o boy…wish I’d done it. I love the idea of you all getting together to make art, read poetry and do art stuff!

Leave a Reply

