Wax and sugar Cactus Monster

114_Waxmonster_AWIt was the orange cream biscuit that did it. That burst of sugar at the tired part of Day 2 of the Encaustic Painting workshop at BRAG which brought forth the New Mexican Cactus Monster. Laser transfer, wax, oil paint, japanese paper eyes, sugar high (not mandatory).

Patricia Baldwin Seggebruch, the current Artist in Residence at BRAG, ran an amazing
2 day Encaustic Painting workshop. A medium I knew nothing about other than loving it’s depth and textural possibilities. Patricia’s work is delicious, organic, abstract… you can tell I loved it.

We had a great day and how lovely to work alongside one of the WBHD ‘organisers’ who pumped out a series of waxy collages that were sublime in a ‘that lady has been hiding her light under a bushel’ kind of way. Had I eaten a third orange cream I probably would have started quietly stealing her works. Please ‘lady organiser’, post us a couple of pics. No pressure πŸ™‚

Christine dropped up to see the work at the end of Day 2 and we all agreed it would be fun to build this into our Sunday print group. Collaged prints and drawings in amongst the wax. Mmmmmm. I believe Jenny and Susan are booked into the Childers workshop. I hope you can post works from that one too.

An experimental time with mixed results.

115_Wax_AW 113_Wax_AW

8 thoughts on “Wax and sugar Cactus Monster

  1. There were so many great experimental artworks in that room…along with many very happy artists. I do love to see artists smiling!! cx

  2. Chorus:
    When Artist’s Eyes Are Smiling, sure ’tis like a morn in spring.
    In the lilt of Artist’s laughter, you can hear the angels sing.
    When Artist’s hearts are happy, all the world seems bright and gay,
    And When Artists Eyes Are Smiling, sure, they steal your heart away.

    With apologies to lyricist Chauncey Olcott and George Graff, Jr.

    That’s enough! See you all when I’m reunited with H’s computer next week.

  3. CC, you’re hilarious.
    And I need to be charged with overuse of the lurv word in that blog! But there was a lot of art love in the room, it was a delightful group.

  4. How did you know that I was feeding you those organe creams in order to distract you and pocket a cactus or two? Alas I ate one to many Monte Carlos and in my sugar high forgot my grand plan, and instead took home my own work…drat!

  5. Am loving that blue/green… tree one especially. Scrumptuous (I’ve misspelled that, but you get the gist). CC….you’re just too funny. Lovely lilt.

  6. CC that little burst of ‘song’ made my day!!! Trudie – you never said! Please bring some in to show πŸ™‚ and yes, I can’t wait to get stuck into some wax works later this month. I’m collecting all sorts of ‘stuff’ to trial, including some digital prints …

Leave a Reply

