Still sharing WBHD

I am back in Hampton Roads, Virginia, where I lived before moving to New Mexico.  (Hampton Roads is the generic name given to this region of waterways, AKA “roads” leading into the Chesapeake Bay around the cities of Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Hampton, and Newport News)  Only here a few days seeing friends and my ex (now finally a friend as well).  One of my get-togethers was with artists at the Charles H. Taylor Arts Center in Hampton, following their weekly Saturday painting session.  The director put me on the spot to share some of my works piled in the back of the car, and talk a bit about my experiences in New Mexico and Australia.  Of course WBHD featured heavily.

Looks like I might make it back to Las Cruces somewhere around the 3rd week in April.  It is finally warming a bit now as Spring progresses in the face of record cold winter, and as I move towards the equator. Enjoyed an outing in the sun on the beach here the other day. Next week I’m in the Carolinas and then Florida.  I haven’t been painting, but occasionally find a worthy photo subject, perhaps for a future artwork.  I’ve been a bit busy to blog much (primarily because of renovation projects at my son’s), so my apologies for failing to chime in on your great posts.

Image

Image

Image

 

Reflections in the winter plastic wind barrier on one of the rides at the historic Glen Echo Amusement Park in Washington, DC

Image

ImageExposed stump and prehistoric mud flats on the beach at Grandview Point, Virginia.  These were exposed by storm surf, having been long buried under sand over the eons of shifting shoreline.

 

3 thoughts on “Still sharing WBHD

  1. Great to hear from you Dave and it sounds like you’ve been having a big family time of it which is a great thing to do (even the renovations bit). No doubt you’ve been soaking up lots of ideas and images along the way, really look forward to seeing the art that comes from it. Seems like such a long time since you were here doesn’t it? Bet your lovely studio will enjoy you being back.

  2. Your reflections photo is amazing Dave. Glad to see you’re still ‘out there’ 🙂

  3. Great to see you nip in and glad that you are still sharing. The face in the reflection is extraordinary. Come home and get to work! CC

Leave a Reply

