Stretched, sketched

Pottering away here on preparatory bits. Had a good stretching session on the weekend and now have 6 small canvasses ready to work on. I really do love the process of preparing a surface: good thinking time. Glorious autumn weather here. 023AW_stretched

Today I took time out to play a bit more. Watercolour, charcoal, graphite. Back on the oils again tomorrow, but I’m going to challenge myself to do a drawing like this every couple of days as a run up to the WBHD work… which may end up as drawings… or oils.

See, no idea πŸ™‚ 024AW_sketched

6 thoughts on “Stretched, sketched

  1. Beautiful work, as always, ms. A. And the canvasses look so welcoming. WANT. With your drawing skills, have you ever painted on panels so it’s easier to add drawing to your paint? A thought. Maybe it’s that ‘I was an illustrator’ thing going on where you don’t want to draw into the paint or over the paint? Whatever you do, you’ve got an outstanding record of turning out beautiful work. Will be good to see what comes onto those canvasses. And, dang, those corners look fabulous. Me? I use too heavy a canvas to get such good and flat corners. Unfortunately, I have ROLLS of it left so ‘corners’ are definitely not me. Tell me again when you’ll be in NM, please.

  2. haha, as you well know Nolan, I’m ‘workshopping’ that ‘I was an illustrator’ hang-up (every flippin’ day) but recently decided to go back to my early art routes of watercolour and graphite and just live with what they’re looking like. I ABSOLUTELY can’t wait to work with you in NM, I know you’ll learn me some stuff :-] Yes you’re right about the boards, and I’ve never used board, BUT I have a whole stack of little boards that I’m trying out at the moment for a show I’m having with Jenny G at the end of the year.

    What weight is your canvas? I use 10oz, but sounds like yours is much heavier?

    Just did a post re my visit, but I arrive 26 August, then Murray arrives 15 October, and we both fly out of El Paso on the 31 October for Orstraylia. He n I will probably head for Hillsboro, Santa Fe, maybe even over to Monument Valley and any other recommendations for holiday time.

  3. Love that new sketch of yours! I am actually looking forward to doing some plein air sketching in NM as I would like to get re-acquainted with my wc and gouache but not so much charcoal πŸ™‚ Also, I can’t wait to go on a photo hunt for all those Virgin Marys. So much to look forward to!!!

  4. That’s the new AS Draw and Wash paper I’m using. It’s quite nice to work on, takes pencil beautifully. I overworked the foreground tree and so got a stick of charcoal on it’s side and just blacked it out, fixed it, and then scribbled over with white. Quite like the contrast.
    Yes, so much to look forward to.

  5. These grass trees are so vivacious Adrienne lovely strong drawing

Leave a Reply

