And the Winner is …..

Hi All, I thought I share my bit of good news with you.

Running an art shop in Bundy is more than just selling art supplies and picture framing. We are also getting heavily involved in the community and support local art competitions. Supporting means we are sponsoring the opening night, the lucky door price etc and I do enter some of my own art works into the competitions.

I never really expect to win but this time I did! I entered my second Frida made of used postage stamps (the one from the previous blog) and won “Best in Show Judge’s Award”, with a prize money of $2500!! To top this win, the judge was the Curatorial Manager of the Art Gallery Queensland/Gallery of Modern Art in Brisbane! As you can imagine I am a very happy bunny as this money goes into my NM travel fund 🙂

And when I thought it couldn’t get any better, the next day I got a phone call from the organiser that my other entry had sold. Unfortunately, I haven’t got a better photo but the artwork is called “320 Teardrops” and consists of 320 cut up elipses from my old paintings assembled row after row on a vibrant acrylic background – it’s quite big and framed in a shadow box. As you may have noticed, I do love repetition 🙂

Talk soon.

P1050582

7 thoughts on “And the Winner is …..

  1. wow, that’s a lot of $ for you to spend while here in the US. haha. This is wonderful news for you, Marlies. Happy. Wish it’s been me. =] Love the piece, too.

  2. Congratulations Marlies! I look forward to seeing your work in person

Leave a Reply

