Raku Firing @ my Bargara Studio

Wheelethrown-vessels-to-be-Raku-fired

Wheelethrown-vessels-to-be-Raku-fired

Handbuilting-vessel-using-textured-coils-burnished-lid.

Handbuilting-vessel-using-textured-coils-burnished-lid.

Fresh-from-the-kiln-Raku-fired-with-post-reduction-using-seaweeds-gathered-on-the-beach.

Fresh-from-the-kiln-Raku-fired-with-post-reduction-using-seaweeds-gathered-on-the-beach.

Cooling-down

Cooling-down

Fragrant-Vessels-Brisbane-Grammar-School-Art-Show

Fragrant-Vessels-Brisbane-Grammar-School-Art-Show

Part-of-Fragrant-Vessels-work-for-the-Brisbane-Grammar-School-Art-Show

Part-of-Fragrant-Vessels-work-for-the-Brisbane-Grammar-School-Art-Show

Too-hot-to-handle-work-for-the-Brisbane-Grammar-School-Art-Show

Too-hot-to-handle-work-for-the-Brisbane-Grammar-School-Art-Show

Still-in-flames

Still-in-flames

Summer-Nights-Raku-vessel-to-be-shown-in-BRAG

Summer-Nights-Raku-vessel-to-be-shown-in-BRAG

I love doing my Raku firing late at night- no noise, no people, no interference of any kind- i need to be in full focus!!  But after many firings for the whole week finishing my Raku way past midnight I decided to have an early session- as the sun was going down. It had some impact on the title of the work- check my Summer Night- one can feel the breeze !!

11 thoughts on “Raku Firing @ my Bargara Studio

  1. Yes beautiful Ariella, I’m especially drawn to the rectangular piece with the white and blue panel

  2. Hi Susan, thank you ! Are you referring to the one that is in flames ? it is a slab built box with a texture insert.
    Did you finish your work ? Any Ceramics ? Saw your work from the Wreck Rock – and loved the mood.

  3. These are beautiful! I love that rectangular one with the stamp. And thanks for reminding me that a neighbor pal told me I could have one of her two raku big bowls she just made. Over wine, I’d forgotten and these beautiful pieces stirred my sieve-like mind.

  4. Happy to be the one that reminds you of Raku Nolan- Raku is my second name when it comes to my work. Have tried many other ways with clay but keep returning to Raku- it is like nothing else. Always surprising , always vibrant and very much alive- exciting!!!

  5. Yes Ariella that’s the one .. I see Nolan and I where both attracted to that piece .. the colours are so beautiful and being drawn into the textured square there’s a feeling of calm and silence.
    I sent 2 small canvasses to Unsettled , having changed to the encaustics for Brag my little wreck rock paintings will join in with the other 30 x 30cm painting I’m accumulating for the next exhibition where and when to be decided. My kiln has been idle for a while now but might turn back to ceramics one day.

  6. Have to say, me three – that little rectangular one in the flames got my attention too 🙂 Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

