Inspiration is everywhere

Another beautiful and quiet day in Mehlmeisel….

P1060565

During my countless walks through Mehlmeisel and surroundings I am always on the lookout for new inspiration and most of the time I just stumble across them. It could be a tiny flower in the middle of a field, a curly plant, a wooden bench in front of a crumbly wall or religious icons on the cemetery. My camera is my constant companion.

P1060526

I have no idea what kind of plant this is, but I love all the curly bits.

P1060527

The holes in the leaves make a great pattern.

P1060573

A place of rest…

P1060497

P1060494

Now imagine these icons in a desert scene with prickly pears….:-)

P1060548

I always take lots of art stuff with me, from paints to collage papers, pencils and markers, but in the end I never use them whilst in Germany. I do lots of thinking instead. By the time I leave I am all fired up and ready to do some work when I get back home, and home this time means Las Cruces. I can’t wait to get my ideas out of my head!

One week is gone already and next Friday I am off to my next adventure – New York! It has been 20 years since my last visit! It is frightening how time flies. The great news is that one lady of my Tuesday evening art class spontaneously decided to meet me in NY. We are both staying in the East Village, each in our own apartment, so we can pretend we are actually living there 🙂 I have made some vague plans – discovering East Village, Greenwich Village, Soho and Chelsea, visit the Whitney Museum to see Fred Tomaselli’s artworks and of course the Guggenheim Museum. But plans are made to be changed, so who knows what we will end up doing. I can’t wait, this will be so exciting.

Yesterday I made some new friends…

P1060537

Before and after…in desperate need of a hair cut.

P1060536

5 thoughts on “Inspiration is everywhere

  1. Love the icon with the gold wings. I can totally see her in amongst the cacti!

  2. yes, yes, yes…hmmmmmmm, golden wings….must consider that one meself. Beautiful stuff around you over there, Marlies.

  3. Ooooh yes the golden wings. You are gathering beautiful things in your kit bag. You will see things here I’m not seeing, and hopefully vice versa. Can’t wait. Let’s do some gold leafing eh?

  4. I’m already onto it! I’ve taken up the heart-shaped nopales imagery for some new work AW :-]

Leave a Reply

