Goodbye Las Cruces!

P1080075

It’s hard to believe but four weeks are over and it’s time for me to say Goodbye to Las Cruces.

Thanks again to everyone who made my stay a memorable one and to those who taught me new skills and gave me new ideas to take back home with me to Bundaberg. I wish you could all come with me, but who knows, one day your travels might take you to Queensland and you know where to find us!

My last day in Las Cruces was filled with activities, starting with a Sugar Skull workshop at Napolito’s Galeria.

P1080100

P1080110

Phil is getting into the swing of things.

P1080116

Not bad for a first attempt. You have to work on those piping skills – Phil 🙂

Then I took Phil to the Market in Main Street, where we enjoyed the buzzing street life and were wondering why we don’t have that in Bundaberg – and we said our goodbyes to the girls at Mas Art.

P1080030

Unsettled Gallery was our next stop and thinking of it without Catherine the whole exchange wouldn’t have happened. A big thanks again to Catherine and Jenny in Bundaberg and of course RADF for the financial incentive 🙂

The afternoon we spent in Mesilla absorbing the atmosphere of the Day of the Dead Celebrations.

P1080096

P1080125

P1080131

P1080132

P1080142

P1080149

and to finish it all off, we went to White Sands for sunset. All in all a great last day!

Tomorrow we are off to El Paso, Day 3 of the Day of the Dead and Monday on to the Big Apple! While I am writing my blog, Phil is packing our suitcases, what a great husband 🙂

Happy Halloween to you all!

P1080119

P1080049

One thought on “Goodbye Las Cruces!

  1. Well, shoot, Marlies…you left way too soon. We didn’t even meet the Phil man and hardly spent time with you. Still, I’m so impressed with the activities you’ve shared with us and those small pieces you posted a few days ago…your time in NM was well spent. Sorry we were so busy with our own stuff to even get to the city much these past weeks.
    I am most impressed by your and A’s ambassadorship skills!!! And art talents, of course!
    xxx and enjoy the NY scene again, and …..
    xxx

Leave a Reply

